As of Oct 10, 2026, the latest day this gauge has reported

How much rain has Carroll County, Tennessee, had in 2026?

34.92 inches of rain have fallen so far in 2026 at the volunteer rain gauge less than a mile west-southwest of Atwood, Carroll County, through Oct 10. That is 6.32 inches less than a usual year to date (85% of usual).

Rain so far
34.92 in
Usual by Oct 10
41.24 in
Percent of usual
85%
2025 by Oct 10
51.00 in
Running total of rain in Carroll County, 2026, against a usual year01020304050JFMAMJJASOND2026Usual
Inches of rain added up day by day from Jan 1, solid line, against the usual year at this gauge (dashed), counted on the same days. Days with no report add nothing to either line.

Get Carroll County’s 2026 rain and snow drawn as a Rain Print, with your name and dates: framed $89, print $45. Make yours

Prints of 2026 ship in January, once the full year is in.

Want another year, like the drought or the year you married? Rainfall art of any town and year.

Month by month

Rain by month in Carroll County, Tennessee, 2026
MonthRain, inUsual, inVs usual
Jan2.034.22−2.19
Feb 1 day not reported3.174.36−1.19
Mar2.415.20−2.79
Apr4.994.96+0.03
May 5 days not reported3.905.08−1.18
Jun 1 day not reported4.834.39+0.44
Jul 1 day not reported7.354.31+3.04
Aug 1 day not reported3.223.72−0.50
Sep2.493.89−1.40
Oct to the 10th0.531.11−0.58
So far34.9241.24−6.32

2026 so far in Carroll County

The station, and what usual means

The numbers come from NOAA’s daily record for the volunteer rain gauge less than a mile west-southwest of Atwood (gauge ID US1TNCR0006), 13 miles from the middle of Carroll County. It reported 274 of the 283 days from Jan 1 to Oct 10; the 9 days with no report count as unknown, not as dry. Rain here means everything the gauge caught: rain, and snow melted down to water. A trace counts as zero. It is read once a day, usually in the morning, and each reading is filed under the day it was read, so an evening storm can show up on the next day.

Usual means NOAA’s 1991 to 2020 daily normals for this gauge, added up over the same 274 days the gauge reported, so a missing day counts on neither side. The volunteer gauges started in 1998, so none has 30 years of its own; NOAA estimates the rest from long-record stations nearby.

Why this gauge: 3 stations inside Carroll County reported at least 90% of the days in 2026. Mountain snow sites, and stations far above the rest in the county, come last, since their rain is not what the farms below get. Then the pick goes to one with NOAA normals, then the most days reported, then the one nearest the middle of the county. Your own rain gauge can read differently a few miles away.

Questions

How much rain has Carroll County, Tennessee, had in 2026?

34.92 inches of rain have fallen so far in 2026 at the volunteer rain gauge less than a mile west-southwest of Atwood, Carroll County, through Oct 10. That is 6.32 inches less than a usual year to date (85% of usual).

Is Carroll County wetter or drier than usual in 2026?

Drier so far. The volunteer rain gauge less than a mile west-southwest of Atwood had 34.92 inches from Jan 1 to Oct 10, 85% of the usual 41.24 inches for the same days.

What was the wettest month in Carroll County in 2026?

July, with 7.35 inches at the volunteer rain gauge less than a mile west-southwest of Atwood, counting Jan 1 through Oct 10.

What was the biggest rain in Carroll County in 2026?

2.28 inches on Sep 12, 2026, the most the gauge caught in one day this year through Oct 10.

How does 2026 compare with 2025 in Carroll County?

From Jan 1 to Oct 10, the volunteer rain gauge less than a mile west-southwest of Atwood had 51.00 inches in 2025 (2025 missed 7 days) and 34.92 inches in 2026 (2026 missed 9 days). On the 267 days both years reported, 2026 had 13.92 inches less than 2025.

Next door

Rain in Tennessee, county by county · PRF insurance in Carroll County · Farmland Atlas: Carroll County