As of Oct 5, 2026, the latest day this station has reported
How much rain has Faulk County, South Dakota, had in 2026?
20.08 inches of rain have fallen so far in 2026 at the weather station in Faulkton, Faulk County, through Oct 5. That is 1.21 inches more than a usual year to date (106% of usual).
- Rain so far
- 20.08 in
- Usual by Oct 5
- 18.87 in
- Percent of usual
- 106%
- 2025 by Oct 5
- 22.26 in
This is Faulk County’s 2026 so far, drawn as a Rain Print. Put your name and dates on it: framed $89, print $45.Get Faulk County’s 2026 rain and snow drawn as a Rain Print, with your name and dates: framed $89, print $45. Make yours
Prints of 2026 ship in January, once the full year is in.
Want another year, like the drought or the year you married? Rainfall art of any town and year.
Month by month
| Month | Rain, in | Usual, in | Vs usual |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2 days not reported | 0.33 | 0.63 | −0.30 |
| Feb | 0.46 | 0.80 | −0.34 |
| Mar | 0.88 | 1.02 | −0.14 |
| Apr | 1.81 | 2.02 | −0.21 |
| May | 2.93 | 3.24 | −0.31 |
| Jun 2 days not reported | 3.66 | 3.35 | +0.31 |
| Jul | 4.05 | 2.74 | +1.31 |
| Aug | 1.34 | 2.67 | −1.33 |
| Sep | 4.62 | 2.04 | +2.58 |
| Oct to the 5th | 0.00 | 0.36 | −0.36 |
| So far | 20.08 | 18.87 | +1.21 |
2026 so far in Faulk County
- Wettest month: September, 4.62 inches.
- Biggest one-day reading: 3.04 inches on Jul 31.
- Longest dry stretch: 16 days in a row with the gauge at zero, Feb 2 to Feb 17.
- 2025 by the same date: 22.26 inches at the same station (it missed 10 days). On the 264 days both years reported, 2026 had 2.38 inches less than 2025.
- On 1 report the observer read the gauge after more than one day. That rain counts on the day it was read, so it is in the totals but not split by day.
The station, and what usual means
The numbers come from NOAA’s daily record for the station in Faulkton (station ID 392927), 3 miles from the middle of Faulk County. It reported 274 of the 278 days from Jan 1 to Oct 5; the 4 days with no report count as unknown, not as dry. Rain here means everything the gauge caught: rain, and snow melted down to water. A trace counts as zero. It is read once a day, usually in the morning, and each reading is filed under the day it was read, so an evening storm can show up on the next day.
Usual means NOAA’s 1991 to 2020 daily normals for this station, added up over the same 274 days the station reported, so a missing day counts on neither side.
Why this station: 3 stations inside Faulk County reported at least 90% of the days in 2026. Mountain snow sites, and stations far above the rest in the county, come last, since their rain is not what the farms below get. Then the pick goes to one with NOAA normals, then the most days reported, then the one nearest the middle of the county. Your own rain gauge can read differently a few miles away.
Questions
How much rain has Faulk County, South Dakota, had in 2026?
20.08 inches of rain have fallen so far in 2026 at the weather station in Faulkton, Faulk County, through Oct 5. That is 1.21 inches more than a usual year to date (106% of usual).
Is Faulk County wetter or drier than usual in 2026?
Wetter so far. The weather station in Faulkton had 20.08 inches from Jan 1 to Oct 5, 106% of the usual 18.87 inches for the same days.
What was the wettest month in Faulk County in 2026?
September, with 4.62 inches at the weather station in Faulkton, counting Jan 1 through Oct 5.
What was the biggest rain in Faulk County in 2026?
3.04 inches on Jul 31, 2026, the biggest one-day reading this year through Oct 5. A reading that covers more than one day is not counted as a one-day rain.
How does 2026 compare with 2025 in Faulk County?
From Jan 1 to Oct 5, the weather station in Faulkton had 22.26 inches in 2025 (2025 missed 10 days) and 20.08 inches in 2026 (2026 missed 4 days). On the 264 days both years reported, 2026 had 2.38 inches less than 2025.
Next door
- Brown County 20.51 in, 104% to Oct 13
- Edmunds County 12.18 in, 68% to Oct 12
- Hand County 12.71 in, 67% to Oct 4
- Hyde County 11.97 in, 62% to Oct 13
Rain in South Dakota, county by county · PRF insurance in Faulk County · Farmland Atlas: Faulk County