As of Oct 13, 2026, the latest day this gauge has reported
How much rain has Ripley County, Indiana, had in 2026?
48.44 inches of rain have fallen so far in 2026 at the volunteer rain gauge less than a mile north-northeast of Batesville, Ripley County, through Oct 13. That is 12.11 inches more than a usual year to date (133% of usual).
- Rain so far
- 48.44 in
- Usual by Oct 13
- 36.33 in
- Percent of usual
- 133%
This is Ripley County’s 2026 so far, drawn as a Rain Print. Put your name and dates on it: framed $89, print $45.Get Ripley County’s 2026 rain and snow drawn as a Rain Print, with your name and dates: framed $89, print $45. Make yours
Prints of 2026 ship in January, once the full year is in.
Want another year, like the drought or the year you married? Rainfall art of any town and year.
Month by month
| Month | Rain, in | Usual, in | Vs usual |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jan | 2.46 | 3.49 | −1.03 |
| Feb | 1.63 | 2.99 | −1.36 |
| Mar | 9.52 | 4.13 | +5.39 |
| Apr | 4.61 | 4.98 | −0.37 |
| May 9 days not reported | 9.41 | 3.78 | +5.63 |
| Jun | 6.16 | 4.80 | +1.36 |
| Jul | 2.54 | 4.26 | −1.72 |
| Aug | 8.42 | 3.93 | +4.49 |
| Sep 5 days not reported | 3.12 | 2.92 | +0.20 |
| Oct to the 13th 2 days not reported | 0.57 | 1.05 | −0.48 |
| So far | 48.44 | 36.33 | +12.11 |
2026 so far in Ripley County
- Wettest month: March, 9.52 inches.
- Biggest one-day reading: 4.42 inches on Aug 12.
- Longest dry stretch: 13 days in a row with the gauge at zero, Aug 28 to Sep 9.
- On 4 reports the observer read the gauge after more than one day. That rain counts on the day it was read, so it is in the totals but not split by day.
The station, and what usual means
The numbers come from NOAA’s daily record for the volunteer rain gauge less than a mile north-northeast of Batesville (gauge ID US1INRP0011), 14 miles from the middle of Ripley County. It reported 270 of the 286 days from Jan 1 to Oct 13; the 16 days with no report count as unknown, not as dry. Rain here means everything the gauge caught: rain, and snow melted down to water. A trace counts as zero. It is read once a day, usually in the morning, and each reading is filed under the day it was read, so an evening storm can show up on the next day.
Usual means NOAA’s 1991 to 2020 daily normals for this gauge, added up over the same 270 days the gauge reported, so a missing day counts on neither side. The volunteer gauges started in 1998, so none has 30 years of its own; NOAA estimates the rest from long-record stations nearby.
Why this gauge: 6 stations inside Ripley County reported at least 90% of the days in 2026. Mountain snow sites, and stations far above the rest in the county, come last, since their rain is not what the farms below get. Then the pick goes to one with NOAA normals, then the most days reported, then the one nearest the middle of the county. Your own rain gauge can read differently a few miles away.
Questions
How much rain has Ripley County, Indiana, had in 2026?
48.44 inches of rain have fallen so far in 2026 at the volunteer rain gauge less than a mile north-northeast of Batesville, Ripley County, through Oct 13. That is 12.11 inches more than a usual year to date (133% of usual).
Is Ripley County wetter or drier than usual in 2026?
Wetter so far. The volunteer rain gauge less than a mile north-northeast of Batesville had 48.44 inches from Jan 1 to Oct 13, 133% of the usual 36.33 inches for the same days.
What was the wettest month in Ripley County in 2026?
March, with 9.52 inches at the volunteer rain gauge less than a mile north-northeast of Batesville, counting Jan 1 through Oct 13.
What was the biggest rain in Ripley County in 2026?
4.42 inches on Aug 12, 2026, the biggest one-day reading this year through Oct 13. A reading that covers more than one day is not counted as a one-day rain.
Next door
- Dearborn County 39.63 in, 109%
- Decatur County 49.22 in
- Franklin County 44.60 in, 128%
- Jefferson County 36.67 in, 94%
Rain in Indiana, county by county · PRF insurance in Ripley County · Farmland Atlas: Ripley County