Farmland sales in Middlesex County, New Jersey
24 recorded sales in the last 12 months, any size (18 of 10 acres or more).
Market middle: $61,556 an acre, the middle of 14 bare farmland sales of 20 acres or more at $500 an acre or more, Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2026 (middle half $18,110 to $141,238). Sales with buildings, forest and small parcels are listed below but kept out of this middle.
Two windows: this middle covers 24 months (14 sales). The Farmland Atlas page also shows the last 12 months, Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026: 7 sales, median $50,299 an acre. Different windows, different numbers.
All of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana, Vermont and New Jersey together: the September 2026 update, with the biggest buyers and unusual prices.
New Jersey sales come from the SR-1A deed abstracts that county tax boards send the state Division of Taxation. A deed is a farm sale here when its lot is classed farm, 3A (the farmhouse lot) or 3B (farmland-assessed land), when it sold or on the 2026 assessment list. Acres are the lot's calculated acreage on that 2026 list: today's lot, which may not be the lot as it sold. A deed whose lot is not on the list has no acres; it is listed and kept out of the middle. A 3A lot holds the farmhouse, so the sale is with buildings; 3B alone is bare land. How the state's non-usable codes map onto the market rule: out are family (1), love and affection (2), related companies (3), correction deeds (4), part interests (8) and less than full rights such as a preservation restriction (35), tax liens (9), partition, sheriff, bankruptcy and short sales (11 to 13), quit claims (14), government (15) and charity (17) transfers, deeds in lieu of foreclosure (18) and the first sale after one (31), rights of way (20), affordable housing (21), exchanges (22), businesses sold with equipment (23), $100 or less (25), not a willing buyer and seller (26) and leasebacks (28), and any deed exempt from the realty transfer fee. Part of a lot (6) or a lot in two districts (16): listed, no acres. Kept, since they only keep a deed out of the state's assessment study: 5, 7, 10 (estate sales), 19, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33 (farmland assessment), 34 and 36. The state's public deed file leaves the buyer and seller blank, so no names show here; the deed at the county clerk has them. Our New Jersey copy starts with deeds recorded in 2018.
Every recorded sale
141 sales on file, Aug 12, 2019 to Jun 16, 2026: 43 farmland, 76 with buildings, 22 small parcels.
Every price here is a recorded sale: what the state's transfer record says was paid once the sale closed. Auction sales count once recorded. Asking prices and auction bids that did not close are never shown.
| Date | Where | Acres | Recorded price | $/acre | Type | Note | Names |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 16, 2026 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $991,990 | $33,856 | farmland | ||
| Jun 11, 2026 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $3,127,540 | $106,742 | with buildings | ||
| May 14, 2026 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 52.4 | $100 | $2 | farmland | ||
| May 11, 2026 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 8.6 | $8,589,250 | $1,001,078 | with buildings | ||
| May 11, 2026 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 9.4 | $8,589,250 | $915,698 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 16, 2026 | South Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 8.7 | $875,000 | $100,806 | small parcel | ||
| Apr 1, 2026 | Cranbury township, Middlesex County, NJ | 15.9 | $1,196,755 | $75,457 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 1, 2026 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $4,039,580 | $137,870 | farmland | ||
| Mar 6, 2026 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $2,133,420 | $72,813 | farmland | ||
| Feb 27, 2026 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 8.1 | $3,300,000 | $407,407 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 4, 2026 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $1,473,770 | $50,299 | farmland | ||
| Jan 14, 2026 | South Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 63.4 | $1 | $0 | farmland | ||
| Dec 22, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 16 | $875,000 | $54,688 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 16, 2025 | East Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | not stated | $6,100,000 | with buildings | |||
| Dec 12, 2025 | Old Bridge township, Middlesex County, NJ | 24.8 | $430,000 | $17,367 | farmland | ||
| Nov 17, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 13.8 | $2,100,000 | $152,174 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 13, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $5,764,530 | $196,742 | farmland | ||
| Nov 12, 2025 | Old Bridge township, Middlesex County, NJ | 14.3 | $1,200,000 | $83,624 | small parcel | ||
| Nov 12, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 80 | $1,015,000 | $12,688 | farmland | ||
| Oct 28, 2025 | Old Bridge township, Middlesex County, NJ | 19.2 | $1,850,000 | $96,304 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 28, 2025 | Plainsboro township, Middlesex County, NJ | 17.5 | $2,300,000 | $131,429 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 10, 2025 | North Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 2.2 | $1,200,000 | $547,945 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 3, 2025 | Cranbury township, Middlesex County, NJ | 65.4 | $810,000 | $12,389 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 3, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $4,171,190 | $142,361 | farmland | ||
| Aug 15, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $6,335,450 | $216,227 | farmland | ||
| Aug 13, 2025 | South Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 7.1 | $925,000 | $130,098 | with buildings | ||
| Aug 4, 2025 | Cranbury township, Middlesex County, NJ | 24.8 | $300,000 | $12,087 | farmland | ||
| Jul 18, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 13 | $450,000 | $34,615 | small parcel | ||
| Jul 18, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 44.8 | $950,000 | $21,205 | with buildings | ||
| Jul 17, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $506,040 | $17,271 | farmland | ||
| Jul 11, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $2,615,600 | $89,270 | farmland | ||
| Jun 3, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.3 | $5,931,890 | $202,454 | farmland | ||
| May 30, 2025 | Piscataway township, Middlesex County, NJ | not stated | $2,900,000 | farmland | |||
| May 16, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | 7 | $1,750,000 | $248,227 | with buildings | ||
| May 2, 2025 | Plainsboro township, Middlesex County, NJ | 13.8 | $20,234,753 | $1,467,350 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 8, 2025 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | not stated | $950,000 | with buildings | |||
| Feb 7, 2025 | East Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 0.3 | $502,114 | $1,476,806 | small parcel | ||
| Jan 3, 2025 | South Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 24 | $7,400,000 | $308,333 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 18, 2024 | North Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | not stated | $400,000 | farmland | |||
| Nov 1, 2024 | South Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 19.3 | $28,710,000 | $1,488,336 | small parcel | ||
| Oct 31, 2024 | South Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 122.9 | $2,500,000 | $20,337 | farmland | ||
| Sep 26, 2024 | Monroe township, Middlesex County, NJ | not stated | $595,000 | farmland | |||
| Aug 14, 2024 | Plainsboro township, Middlesex County, NJ | 117 | $4,500,000 | $38,445 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 27, 2024 | South Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 64.5 | $13,038,426 | $202,021 | farmland | ||
| Jun 27, 2024 | South Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | not stated | $4,961,574 | with buildings | |||
| May 10, 2024 | East Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | 29.2 | $350,000 | $11,966 | farmland | ||
| Apr 5, 2024 | Cranbury township, Middlesex County, NJ | 129.9 | $843,055 | $6,491 | farmland | ||
| Apr 3, 2024 | Cranbury township, Middlesex County, NJ | 77.9 | $207,500 | $2,662 | farmland | ||
| Jan 23, 2024 | South Brunswick township, Middlesex County, NJ | not stated | $21,700,000 | farmland | |||
| Jan 23, 2024 | Plainsboro township, Middlesex County, NJ | 108.8 | $48,300,000 | $443,811 | farmland | Unusual price: above the county's usual |
Showing the newest 50 of 141 sales.
Type: with buildings means the property class on the record shows a house, farm buildings or a business; forest means forest classes with no farm class (Wisconsin) or timberland with no operating farm (Vermont); a small parcel is under 20 acres; farmland is the rest. Acres not stated: a return covering several parcels that does not give them.
A sale marked unusual is bare farmland whose price per acre sits well outside the market middle half; possible reasons above it: a house or buildings, timber or hunting ground, a building site or development land, or a neighbor paying more for the piece next door; below: a family or neighbor sale, a part interest, wooded, wet or poorer ground, no road access, or a land contract.
Buyer and seller names are public record on the state's transfer return. They load only when you tap, and are not shown to search engines. If one is yours and you want it off this site, tap Remove my name beside it.
A sale is listed when it carries a price and acres and a whole interest changed hands in a normal sale: gifts, family and related-party sales, quit claims, foreclosures and the like are left out, the same rule as Field Scout and the Farmland Atlas. Township and town are where the state places the sale; no parcel is pinned. None of this is an appraisal. Source: New Jersey Division of Taxation, SR-1A deed abstracts with acres from the MOD-IV 2026 assessment list, farm lots (classes 3A and 3B), read Oct 29, 2026.
Middlesex County in the Farmland Atlas · Every sale on a map in Field Scout · Comparable sales report · Other counties