Farmland sales in Grand Isle County, Vermont

1 recorded sales in the last 12 months, any size (0 of 10 acres or more).

No market middle: 4 bare farmland sales of 20 acres or more at $500 an acre or more, Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2026, and it takes 5.

All of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana and Vermont together: the September 2026 update, with the biggest buyers and unusual prices.

Vermont sales come from the property transfer tax return. A return is a farm sale here when the land's use before or after the sale is an operating farm or timberland, or open land enrolled in current use. Left out of the market rule: a buyer the return marks as related to the seller (family, the seller's own trust or another relation), a return that claims a transfer tax exemption, a transfer the land gains tax return says was without pay, by divorce or by foreclosure, and anything less than the whole interest (a share, a life estate, a lease or an easement). Buildings come from the return's buildings boxes; timberland with no operating farm and no buildings is forest. Current use enrollment is shown on each sale; Vermont enrolls both farm and forest land, so open land in current use is counted as farmland and may include some woods. Our Vermont copy starts with the returns posted in 2019.

Every recorded sale

25 sales on file, Mar 25, 2019 to Oct 1, 2025: 12 farmland, 6 with buildings, 7 small parcels.

Newest first, Grand Isle County, Vermont
DateWhereAcresPrice$/acreTypeNoteNames
Oct 1, 2025South Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT0.2$2,500$11,364with buildings
Sep 8, 2025Grand Isle town, Grand Isle County, VT75.2$575,000$7,643farmlandEnrolled in current use
Apr 18, 2025South Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT6.1$395,000$64,332small parcelEnrolled in current use
Mar 31, 2025Alburgh town, Grand Isle County, VT101$288,984$2,861farmlandEnrolled in current use
Mar 31, 2025Alburgh town, Grand Isle County, VT38.8$111,016$2,861farmlandEnrolled in current use
Mar 27, 2025South Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT144.2$870,000$6,033with buildingsEnrolled in current use
Nov 25, 2024South Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT2.1$100,000$47,847small parcelEnrolled in current use
Nov 12, 2024Isle La Motte town, Grand Isle County, VT57.9$115,450$1,995farmlandEnrolled in current use
Nov 4, 2024Isle La Motte town, Grand Isle County, VT56.8$623,000$10,978with buildingsEnrolled in current use
Aug 5, 2024Alburgh town, Grand Isle County, VT129.5$695,000$5,367farmlandEnrolled in current use
Jul 3, 2024Alburgh town, Grand Isle County, VTnot stated$3,730,000farmlandEnrolled in current use
May 28, 2024North Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT7.5$22,500$3,000small parcelEnrolled in current use
Jun 8, 2023Grand Isle town, Grand Isle County, VT2.7$90,000$33,333small parcelEnrolled in current use
Apr 4, 2023Alburgh town, Grand Isle County, VT131$325,000$2,481farmlandEnrolled in current use
Mar 14, 2023South Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT20$159,680$8,000small parcel
Mar 14, 2023South Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT17.6$146,000$8,295small parcelEnrolled in current use
May 21, 2022North Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT126.3$55,000$435farmlandEnrolled in current use
Feb 4, 2022Grand Isle town, Grand Isle County, VTnot stated$200,000farmlandEnrolled in current use
Dec 30, 2021Alburgh town, Grand Isle County, VT258$1,075,000$4,167farmlandEnrolled in current use
Dec 30, 2021Alburgh town, Grand Isle County, VT232.8$1,075,000$4,618farmlandEnrolled in current use
Nov 23, 2020Alburgh town, Grand Isle County, VTnot stated$4,650,000with buildingsEnrolled in current use
Nov 17, 2020South Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT59.2$490,000$8,274farmlandEnrolled in current use
Sep 2, 2020North Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT10$25,253$2,525small parcelEnrolled in current use
Sep 3, 2019South Hero town, Grand Isle County, VT92$225,000$2,446with buildingsEnrolled in current use
Mar 25, 2019Alburgh town, Grand Isle County, VT20.5$95,100$4,641with buildingsEnrolled in current use

Type: with buildings means the property class on the record shows a house, farm buildings or a business; forest means forest classes with no farm class (Wisconsin) or timberland with no operating farm (Vermont); a small parcel is under 20 acres; farmland is the rest. Acres not stated: a return covering several parcels that does not give them.

Buyer and seller names are public record on the state's transfer return. They load only when you tap, and are not shown to search engines. If one is yours and you want it off this site, tap Remove my name beside it.

A sale is listed when it carries a price and acres and a whole interest changed hands in a normal sale: gifts, family and related-party sales, quit claims, foreclosures and the like are left out, the same rule as Field Scout and the Farmland Atlas. Township and town are where the state places the sale; no parcel is pinned. None of this is an appraisal. Source: Vermont Department of Taxes, property transfer tax returns (published by VCGI), farm, forest and current use land, read Oct 29, 2026.

Grand Isle County in the Farmland Atlas · Every sale on a map in Field Scout · Comparable sales report · Other counties