Farmland sales in Caledonia County, Vermont
20 recorded sales in the last 12 months, any size (15 of 10 acres or more).
Market middle: $2,600 an acre, the middle of 15 bare farmland sales of 20 acres or more at $500 an acre or more, Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2026 (middle half $2,110 to $3,565). Sales with buildings, forest and small parcels are listed below but kept out of this middle.
All of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana and Vermont together: the September 2026 update, with the biggest buyers and unusual prices.
Vermont sales come from the property transfer tax return. A return is a farm sale here when the land's use before or after the sale is an operating farm or timberland, or open land enrolled in current use. Left out of the market rule: a buyer the return marks as related to the seller (family, the seller's own trust or another relation), a return that claims a transfer tax exemption, a transfer the land gains tax return says was without pay, by divorce or by foreclosure, and anything less than the whole interest (a share, a life estate, a lease or an easement). Buildings come from the return's buildings boxes; timberland with no operating farm and no buildings is forest. Current use enrollment is shown on each sale; Vermont enrolls both farm and forest land, so open land in current use is counted as farmland and may include some woods. Our Vermont copy starts with the returns posted in 2019.
Every recorded sale
199 sales on file, Dec 27, 2018 to Sep 21, 2026: 90 farmland, 32 with buildings, 57 forest, 20 small parcels.
| Date | Where | Acres | Price | $/acre | Type | Note | Names |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 21, 2026 | Hardwick town, Caledonia County, VT | 109.2 | $380,000 | $3,479 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Sep 3, 2026 | Danville town, Caledonia County, VT | 30 | $65,000 | $2,167 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jul 31, 2026 | Waterford town, Caledonia County, VT | 57 | $125,000 | $2,193 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jul 9, 2026 | Walden town, Caledonia County, VT | 20 | $35,000 | $1,750 | forest | ||
| May 18, 2026 | Barnet town, Caledonia County, VT | 34 | $126,000 | $3,706 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| May 6, 2026 | Sheffield town, Caledonia County, VT | 10 | $10,000 | $1,000 | forest | ||
| Apr 7, 2026 | Danville town, Caledonia County, VT | 38 | $112,950 | $2,972 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Mar 26, 2026 | Waterford town, Caledonia County, VT | 2 | $40,000 | $20,000 | small parcel | Enrolled in current use | |
| Mar 23, 2026 | Barnet town, Caledonia County, VT | not stated | $189,500 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | ||
| Feb 27, 2026 | Waterford town, Caledonia County, VT | not stated | $241,600 | with buildings | |||
| Jan 15, 2026 | Hardwick town, Caledonia County, VT | 50 | $130,000 | $2,600 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jan 6, 2026 | Wheelock town, Caledonia County, VT | 5 | $34,000 | $6,800 | small parcel | Enrolled in current use | |
| Dec 31, 2025 | Sheffield town, Caledonia County, VT | 140 | $161,128 | $1,151 | forest | Enrolled in current use | |
| Dec 23, 2025 | Newark town, Caledonia County, VT | not stated | $66,000 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | ||
| Dec 9, 2025 | Waterford town, Caledonia County, VT | 33.9 | $55,000 | $1,622 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Nov 25, 2025 | Newark town, Caledonia County, VT | 59.6 | $200,000 | $3,358 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Nov 17, 2025 | Barnet town, Caledonia County, VT | 91 | $299,900 | $3,296 | with buildings | Enrolled in current use | |
| Oct 27, 2025 | Barnet town, Caledonia County, VT | 50.1 | $225,000 | $4,491 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Oct 16, 2025 | Kirby town, Caledonia County, VT | 56.9 | $70,000 | $1,230 | forest | ||
| Oct 6, 2025 | Groton town, Caledonia County, VT | 237 | $198,100 | $836 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Sep 22, 2025 | Groton town, Caledonia County, VT | 69.7 | $143,000 | $2,052 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Sep 8, 2025 | Hardwick town, Caledonia County, VT | 26.8 | $165,000 | $6,157 | farmland | Unusual price: above the county's usual; Enrolled in current use | |
| Sep 3, 2025 | Waterford town, Caledonia County, VT | 69.2 | $245,000 | $3,538 | forest | Enrolled in current use | |
| Aug 26, 2025 | Kirby town, Caledonia County, VT | 40.2 | $94,000 | $2,340 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Aug 20, 2025 | Wheelock town, Caledonia County, VT | 293.8 | $400,000 | $1,362 | with buildings | ||
| Aug 7, 2025 | Barnet town, Caledonia County, VT | 181.7 | $75,000 | $413 | with buildings | ||
| Jul 28, 2025 | Danville town, Caledonia County, VT | 50 | $159,000 | $3,180 | forest | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jul 23, 2025 | Hardwick town, Caledonia County, VT | 136 | $326,610 | $2,402 | with buildings | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jul 23, 2025 | Hardwick town, Caledonia County, VT | 6 | $573,390 | $95,565 | with buildings | ||
| Jul 14, 2025 | Danville town, Caledonia County, VT | 3 | $72,000 | $24,000 | small parcel | Enrolled in current use | |
| May 14, 2025 | Sutton town, Caledonia County, VT | 242.9 | $680,000 | $2,800 | with buildings | Enrolled in current use | |
| Apr 29, 2025 | Lyndon town, Caledonia County, VT | 137 | $500,000 | $3,650 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Mar 19, 2025 | Danville town, Caledonia County, VT | 72.9 | $300,000 | $4,115 | with buildings | Enrolled in current use | |
| Mar 3, 2025 | Walden town, Caledonia County, VT | 19.4 | $21,285 | $1,100 | small parcel | Enrolled in current use | |
| Feb 18, 2025 | Danville town, Caledonia County, VT | 148 | $270,000 | $1,824 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jan 21, 2025 | Danville town, Caledonia County, VT | not stated | $370,000 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | ||
| Jan 14, 2025 | Newark town, Caledonia County, VT | 115.6 | $605,000 | $5,234 | forest | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jan 3, 2025 | Ryegate town, Caledonia County, VT | 192.5 | $928,000 | $4,821 | with buildings | Enrolled in current use | |
| Dec 23, 2024 | Danville town, Caledonia County, VT | 29.4 | $255,000 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | ||
| Nov 19, 2024 | Sutton town, Caledonia County, VT | 10.6 | $10,909 | $1,029 | small parcel | ||
| Aug 29, 2024 | Newark town, Caledonia County, VT | 315 | $575,000 | $1,825 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Aug 19, 2024 | Barnet town, Caledonia County, VT | 56.4 | $148,000 | $2,624 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Aug 8, 2024 | Wheelock town, Caledonia County, VT | 108.5 | $147,500 | $1,359 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jul 2, 2024 | Danville town, Caledonia County, VT | 228.5 | $650,000 | $2,845 | with buildings | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jun 25, 2024 | Wheelock town, Caledonia County, VT | 45 | $60,000 | $1,333 | forest | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jun 17, 2024 | Sutton town, Caledonia County, VT | 43 | $225,000 | $5,233 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jun 13, 2024 | Walden town, Caledonia County, VT | 95 | $215,000 | $2,263 | forest | Enrolled in current use | |
| Jun 3, 2024 | Barnet town, Caledonia County, VT | 184.2 | $426,400 | $2,314 | farmland | Enrolled in current use | |
| May 8, 2024 | Groton town, Caledonia County, VT | 40 | $110,000 | $2,750 | forest | ||
| Apr 10, 2024 | Lyndon town, Caledonia County, VT | 80.1 | $270,000 | $3,371 | farmland | Enrolled in current use |
Showing the newest 50 of 199 sales.
Type: with buildings means the property class on the record shows a house, farm buildings or a business; forest means forest classes with no farm class (Wisconsin) or timberland with no operating farm (Vermont); a small parcel is under 20 acres; farmland is the rest. Acres not stated: a return covering several parcels that does not give them.
A sale marked unusual is bare farmland whose price per acre sits well outside the market middle half; possible reasons above it: a house or buildings, timber or hunting ground, a building site or development land, or a neighbor paying more for the piece next door; below: a family or neighbor sale, a part interest, wooded, wet or poorer ground, no road access, or a land contract.
Buyer and seller names are public record on the state's transfer return. They load only when you tap, and are not shown to search engines. If one is yours and you want it off this site, tap Remove my name beside it.
A sale is listed when it carries a price and acres and a whole interest changed hands in a normal sale: gifts, family and related-party sales, quit claims, foreclosures and the like are left out, the same rule as Field Scout and the Farmland Atlas. Township and town are where the state places the sale; no parcel is pinned. None of this is an appraisal. Source: Vermont Department of Taxes, property transfer tax returns (published by VCGI), farm, forest and current use land, read Oct 29, 2026.
Caledonia County in the Farmland Atlas · Every sale on a map in Field Scout · Comparable sales report · Other counties