Farmland sales in Sussex County, New Jersey
42 recorded sales in the last 12 months, any size (36 of 10 acres or more).
Market middle: $7,848 an acre, the middle of 15 bare farmland sales of 20 acres or more at $500 an acre or more, Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2026 (middle half $6,350 to $12,065). Sales with buildings, forest and small parcels are listed below but kept out of this middle.
All of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana, Vermont and New Jersey together: the September 2026 update, with the biggest buyers and unusual prices.
New Jersey sales come from the SR-1A deed abstracts that county tax boards send the state Division of Taxation. A deed is a farm sale here when its lot is classed farm, 3A (the farmhouse lot) or 3B (farmland-assessed land), when it sold or on the 2026 assessment list. Acres are the lot's calculated acreage on that 2026 list: today's lot, which may not be the lot as it sold. A deed whose lot is not on the list has no acres; it is listed and kept out of the middle. A 3A lot holds the farmhouse, so the sale is with buildings; 3B alone is bare land. How the state's non-usable codes map onto the market rule: out are family (1), love and affection (2), related companies (3), correction deeds (4), part interests (8) and less than full rights such as a preservation restriction (35), tax liens (9), partition, sheriff, bankruptcy and short sales (11 to 13), quit claims (14), government (15) and charity (17) transfers, deeds in lieu of foreclosure (18) and the first sale after one (31), rights of way (20), affordable housing (21), exchanges (22), businesses sold with equipment (23), $100 or less (25), not a willing buyer and seller (26) and leasebacks (28), and any deed exempt from the realty transfer fee. Part of a lot (6) or a lot in two districts (16): listed, no acres. Kept, since they only keep a deed out of the state's assessment study: 5, 7, 10 (estate sales), 19, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33 (farmland assessment), 34 and 36. The state's public deed file leaves the buyer and seller blank, so no names show here; the deed at the county clerk has them. Our New Jersey copy starts with deeds recorded in 2018.
Every recorded sale
677 sales on file, Jul 2, 2019 to Jun 30, 2026: 93 farmland, 470 with buildings, 114 small parcels.
Every price here is a recorded sale: what the state's transfer record says was paid once the sale closed. Auction sales count once recorded. Asking prices and auction bids that did not close are never shown.
| Date | Where | Acres | Recorded price | $/acre | Type | Note | Names |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 30, 2026 | Hardyston township, Sussex County, NJ | 43.5 | $1,081,663 | $24,894 | farmland | Unusual price: above the county's usual | |
| Jun 26, 2026 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 23.9 | $970,000 | $40,620 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 25, 2026 | Andover township, Sussex County, NJ | 13 | $1,625,000 | $125,000 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 23, 2026 | Lafayette township, Sussex County, NJ | 111.2 | $1,300,000 | $11,690 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 22, 2026 | Vernon township, Sussex County, NJ | 83.5 | $750,000 | $8,985 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 22, 2026 | Hardyston township, Sussex County, NJ | 223 | $3,316,035 | $14,869 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 22, 2026 | Hardyston township, Sussex County, NJ | 210.3 | $4,679,319 | $22,245 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 4, 2026 | Andover township, Sussex County, NJ | 21 | $1,200,000 | $57,116 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 4, 2026 | Lafayette township, Sussex County, NJ | 46.1 | $350,000 | $7,594 | farmland | ||
| May 13, 2026 | Lafayette township, Sussex County, NJ | 21.5 | $1,350,000 | $62,674 | with buildings | ||
| May 12, 2026 | Frankford township, Sussex County, NJ | 27.1 | $1,100,000 | $40,546 | with buildings | ||
| May 8, 2026 | Fredon township, Sussex County, NJ | 5.1 | $80,000 | $15,595 | small parcel | ||
| May 8, 2026 | Fredon township, Sussex County, NJ | 9.9 | $950,000 | $96,251 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 28, 2026 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 52.4 | $455,000 | $8,685 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 28, 2026 | Hampton township, Sussex County, NJ | 8.2 | $875,000 | $106,968 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 20, 2026 | Montague township, Sussex County, NJ | 10.7 | $120,000 | $11,268 | small parcel | ||
| Apr 10, 2026 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 21.3 | $565,000 | $26,576 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 2, 2026 | Green township, Sussex County, NJ | not stated | $200,000 | with buildings | |||
| Mar 24, 2026 | Sandyston township, Sussex County, NJ | 18.9 | $630,000 | $33,298 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 23, 2026 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 11.3 | $391,875 | $34,649 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 13, 2026 | Montague township, Sussex County, NJ | 21.3 | $600,000 | $28,169 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 6, 2026 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 30 | $1,200,000 | $40,000 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 5, 2026 | Hardyston township, Sussex County, NJ | 16.9 | $515,000 | $30,473 | small parcel | ||
| Feb 24, 2026 | Frankford township, Sussex County, NJ | 44 | $1,650,000 | $37,534 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 24, 2026 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 46.3 | $325,000 | $7,024 | with buildings | ||
| Jan 27, 2026 | Andover township, Sussex County, NJ | 111 | $825,000 | $7,433 | with buildings | ||
| Jan 16, 2026 | Andover township, Sussex County, NJ | 6 | $875,000 | $146,812 | with buildings | ||
| Jan 14, 2026 | Lafayette township, Sussex County, NJ | 16.2 | $120,000 | $7,385 | small parcel | ||
| Jan 14, 2026 | Stillwater township, Sussex County, NJ | 11.5 | $575,000 | $50,000 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 30, 2025 | Stillwater township, Sussex County, NJ | 24.4 | $535,000 | $21,935 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 22, 2025 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 18.8 | $700,000 | $37,175 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 22, 2025 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 19.3 | $850,000 | $44,041 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 15, 2025 | Lafayette township, Sussex County, NJ | 4.9 | $50,000 | $10,121 | small parcel | ||
| Dec 8, 2025 | Stillwater township, Sussex County, NJ | 29.9 | $225,000 | $7,530 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 5, 2025 | Lafayette township, Sussex County, NJ | 28.5 | $349,000 | $12,259 | farmland | ||
| Nov 26, 2025 | Vernon township, Sussex County, NJ | 34 | $875,000 | $25,735 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 18, 2025 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 19.3 | $550,000 | $28,497 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 3, 2025 | Frankford township, Sussex County, NJ | 13.2 | $1,200,000 | $91,047 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 27, 2025 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 107.4 | $1,900,000 | $17,693 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 24, 2025 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 60.5 | $815,000 | $13,464 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 10, 2025 | Sandyston township, Sussex County, NJ | 14.2 | $685,000 | $48,239 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 9, 2025 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 140 | $1,250,000 | $8,927 | with buildings | ||
| Sep 29, 2025 | Frankford township, Sussex County, NJ | 6.7 | $592,500 | $88,039 | with buildings | ||
| Sep 23, 2025 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 9.5 | $720,000 | $75,630 | with buildings | ||
| Sep 18, 2025 | Wantage township, Sussex County, NJ | 29.5 | $1,100,000 | $37,263 | with buildings | ||
| Sep 5, 2025 | Fredon township, Sussex County, NJ | 97.5 | $517,500 | $5,305 | farmland | ||
| Sep 5, 2025 | Montague township, Sussex County, NJ | 61 | $510,000 | $8,361 | with buildings | ||
| Aug 20, 2025 | Sandyston township, Sussex County, NJ | 7.5 | $135,000 | $17,905 | small parcel | ||
| Aug 20, 2025 | Vernon township, Sussex County, NJ | 14.8 | $140,000 | $9,447 | small parcel | ||
| Aug 18, 2025 | Fredon township, Sussex County, NJ | 55.2 | $930,000 | $16,857 | with buildings |
Showing the newest 50 of 677 sales.
Type: with buildings means the property class on the record shows a house, farm buildings or a business; forest means forest classes with no farm class (Wisconsin) or timberland with no operating farm (Vermont); a small parcel is under 20 acres; farmland is the rest. Acres not stated: a return covering several parcels that does not give them.
A sale marked unusual is bare farmland whose price per acre sits well outside the market middle half; possible reasons above it: a house or buildings, timber or hunting ground, a building site or development land, or a neighbor paying more for the piece next door; below: a family or neighbor sale, a part interest, wooded, wet or poorer ground, no road access, or a land contract.
Buyer and seller names are public record on the state's transfer return. They load only when you tap, and are not shown to search engines. If one is yours and you want it off this site, tap Remove my name beside it.
A sale is listed when it carries a price and acres and a whole interest changed hands in a normal sale: gifts, family and related-party sales, quit claims, foreclosures and the like are left out, the same rule as Field Scout and the Farmland Atlas. Township and town are where the state places the sale; no parcel is pinned. None of this is an appraisal. Source: New Jersey Division of Taxation, SR-1A deed abstracts with acres from the MOD-IV 2026 assessment list, farm lots (classes 3A and 3B), read Oct 29, 2026.
Sussex County in the Farmland Atlas · Every sale on a map in Field Scout · Comparable sales report · Other counties