Farmland sales in Salem County, New Jersey
53 recorded sales in the last 12 months, any size (39 of 10 acres or more).
Market middle: $7,064 an acre, the middle of 15 bare farmland sales of 20 acres or more at $500 an acre or more, Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2026 (middle half $5,431 to $16,038). Sales with buildings, forest and small parcels are listed below but kept out of this middle.
Two windows: this middle covers 24 months (15 sales). The Farmland Atlas page also shows the last 12 months, Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026: 7 sales, median $6,321 an acre. Different windows, different numbers.
All of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana, Vermont and New Jersey together: the September 2026 update, with the biggest buyers and unusual prices.
New Jersey sales come from the SR-1A deed abstracts that county tax boards send the state Division of Taxation. A deed is a farm sale here when its lot is classed farm, 3A (the farmhouse lot) or 3B (farmland-assessed land), when it sold or on the 2026 assessment list. Acres are the lot's calculated acreage on that 2026 list: today's lot, which may not be the lot as it sold. A deed whose lot is not on the list has no acres; it is listed and kept out of the middle. A 3A lot holds the farmhouse, so the sale is with buildings; 3B alone is bare land. How the state's non-usable codes map onto the market rule: out are family (1), love and affection (2), related companies (3), correction deeds (4), part interests (8) and less than full rights such as a preservation restriction (35), tax liens (9), partition, sheriff, bankruptcy and short sales (11 to 13), quit claims (14), government (15) and charity (17) transfers, deeds in lieu of foreclosure (18) and the first sale after one (31), rights of way (20), affordable housing (21), exchanges (22), businesses sold with equipment (23), $100 or less (25), not a willing buyer and seller (26) and leasebacks (28), and any deed exempt from the realty transfer fee. Part of a lot (6) or a lot in two districts (16): listed, no acres. Kept, since they only keep a deed out of the state's assessment study: 5, 7, 10 (estate sales), 19, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33 (farmland assessment), 34 and 36. The state's public deed file leaves the buyer and seller blank, so no names show here; the deed at the county clerk has them. Our New Jersey copy starts with deeds recorded in 2018.
Every recorded sale
728 sales on file, Jul 3, 2019 to Jun 24, 2026: 173 farmland, 442 with buildings, 113 small parcels.
Every price here is a recorded sale: what the state's transfer record says was paid once the sale closed. Auction sales count once recorded. Asking prices and auction bids that did not close are never shown.
| Date | Where | Acres | Recorded price | $/acre | Type | Note | Names |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 24, 2026 | Pilesgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 6 | $850,000 | $141,667 | small parcel | ||
| Jun 22, 2026 | Alloway township, Salem County, NJ | 6 | $1 | $0 | small parcel | ||
| Jun 10, 2026 | Pilesgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 26.8 | $1 | $0 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 8, 2026 | Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 28.3 | $1 | $0 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 3, 2026 | Alloway township, Salem County, NJ | 81 | $425,000 | $5,244 | farmland | ||
| May 28, 2026 | Pilesgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 37 | $700,000 | $18,919 | with buildings | ||
| May 26, 2026 | Oldmans township, Salem County, NJ | 55.2 | $1 | $0 | with buildings | ||
| May 15, 2026 | Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 36.2 | $1 | $0 | farmland | ||
| May 4, 2026 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 28.3 | $685,000 | $24,214 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 17, 2026 | Oldmans township, Salem County, NJ | 2.5 | $125,000 | $51,020 | small parcel | ||
| Apr 10, 2026 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 3.6 | $1 | $0 | small parcel | ||
| Apr 10, 2026 | Quinton township, Salem County, NJ | 46.3 | $150,000 | $3,238 | farmland | ||
| Apr 8, 2026 | Pilesgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 64.9 | $508,304 | $7,827 | farmland | ||
| Mar 31, 2026 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 7 | $150,000 | $21,429 | small parcel | ||
| Mar 30, 2026 | Quinton township, Salem County, NJ | 95 | $1 | $0 | farmland | ||
| Mar 27, 2026 | Mannington township, Salem County, NJ | 23.5 | $899,000 | $38,288 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 20, 2026 | Alloway township, Salem County, NJ | 39.4 | $742,000 | $18,828 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 20, 2026 | Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 63.8 | $1 | $0 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 19, 2026 | Mannington township, Salem County, NJ | 140.4 | $1 | $0 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 9, 2026 | Pilesgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 26.6 | $1,500,000 | $56,349 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 4, 2026 | Alloway township, Salem County, NJ | 17.9 | $390,000 | $21,776 | small parcel | ||
| Feb 19, 2026 | Lower Alloways Creek township, Salem County, NJ | 14.2 | $30,000 | $2,116 | small parcel | ||
| Feb 19, 2026 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 6 | $300,000 | $50,000 | small parcel | ||
| Feb 3, 2026 | Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 4.6 | $1 | $0 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 3, 2026 | Carneys Point township, Salem County, NJ | 156.2 | $70,199,840 | $449,480 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 2, 2026 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 3.6 | $1 | $0 | with buildings | ||
| Jan 16, 2026 | Lower Alloways Creek township, Salem County, NJ | 10.3 | $100 | $10 | small parcel | ||
| Jan 7, 2026 | Alloway township, Salem County, NJ | 6.5 | $175,000 | $27,048 | small parcel | ||
| Dec 31, 2025 | Pilesgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 6 | $205,000 | $34,053 | small parcel | ||
| Dec 29, 2025 | Alloway township, Salem County, NJ | not stated | $1 | with buildings | |||
| Dec 23, 2025 | Pilesgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 106 | $1 | $0 | farmland | ||
| Dec 23, 2025 | Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 6.7 | $300,000 | $44,776 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 23, 2025 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 40.3 | $675,000 | $16,737 | farmland | ||
| Dec 16, 2025 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 60.5 | $1 | $0 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 9, 2025 | Carneys Point township, Salem County, NJ | 12.3 | $567,500 | $46,251 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 26, 2025 | Alloway township, Salem County, NJ | 16.6 | $680,000 | $41,038 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 25, 2025 | Alloway township, Salem County, NJ | 31.3 | $499,200 | $15,939 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 25, 2025 | Quinton township, Salem County, NJ | 23.4 | $850,000 | $36,325 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 25, 2025 | Mannington township, Salem County, NJ | 52.2 | $850,000 | $16,287 | farmland | ||
| Nov 25, 2025 | Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 12.2 | $614,999 | $50,576 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 24, 2025 | Lower Alloways Creek township, Salem County, NJ | 4.1 | $166,500 | $40,610 | small parcel | ||
| Nov 19, 2025 | Carneys Point township, Salem County, NJ | 40.5 | $700,000 | $17,267 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 17, 2025 | Lower Alloways Creek township, Salem County, NJ | 91.5 | $30,000 | $328 | farmland | ||
| Nov 5, 2025 | Alloway township, Salem County, NJ | 130.5 | $825,000 | $6,321 | farmland | ||
| Oct 23, 2025 | Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 12.2 | $1 | $0 | small parcel | ||
| Oct 20, 2025 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 51.5 | $869,644 | $16,903 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 16, 2025 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 136.9 | $600,000 | $4,384 | farmland | ||
| Oct 14, 2025 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 10.6 | $615,000 | $58,294 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 10, 2025 | Pilesgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 18.4 | $725,000 | $39,467 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 8, 2025 | Upper Pittsgrove township, Salem County, NJ | 15.2 | $810,000 | $53,360 | with buildings |
Showing the newest 50 of 728 sales.
Type: with buildings means the property class on the record shows a house, farm buildings or a business; forest means forest classes with no farm class (Wisconsin) or timberland with no operating farm (Vermont); a small parcel is under 20 acres; farmland is the rest. Acres not stated: a return covering several parcels that does not give them.
A sale marked unusual is bare farmland whose price per acre sits well outside the market middle half; possible reasons above it: a house or buildings, timber or hunting ground, a building site or development land, or a neighbor paying more for the piece next door; below: a family or neighbor sale, a part interest, wooded, wet or poorer ground, no road access, or a land contract.
Buyer and seller names are public record on the state's transfer return. They load only when you tap, and are not shown to search engines. If one is yours and you want it off this site, tap Remove my name beside it.
A sale is listed when it carries a price and acres and a whole interest changed hands in a normal sale: gifts, family and related-party sales, quit claims, foreclosures and the like are left out, the same rule as Field Scout and the Farmland Atlas. Township and town are where the state places the sale; no parcel is pinned. None of this is an appraisal. Source: New Jersey Division of Taxation, SR-1A deed abstracts with acres from the MOD-IV 2026 assessment list, farm lots (classes 3A and 3B), read Oct 29, 2026.
Salem County in the Farmland Atlas · Every sale on a map in Field Scout · Comparable sales report · Other counties