Farmland sales in Monmouth County, New Jersey

47 recorded sales in the last 12 months, any size (27 of 10 acres or more).

Market middle: $36,227 an acre, the middle of 10 bare farmland sales of 20 acres or more at $500 an acre or more, Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2026 (middle half $29,920 to $53,604). Sales with buildings, forest and small parcels are listed below but kept out of this middle.

All of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana, Vermont and New Jersey together: the September 2026 update, with the biggest buyers and unusual prices.

New Jersey sales come from the SR-1A deed abstracts that county tax boards send the state Division of Taxation. A deed is a farm sale here when its lot is classed farm, 3A (the farmhouse lot) or 3B (farmland-assessed land), when it sold or on the 2026 assessment list. Acres are the lot's calculated acreage on that 2026 list: today's lot, which may not be the lot as it sold. A deed whose lot is not on the list has no acres; it is listed and kept out of the middle. A 3A lot holds the farmhouse, so the sale is with buildings; 3B alone is bare land. How the state's non-usable codes map onto the market rule: out are family (1), love and affection (2), related companies (3), correction deeds (4), part interests (8) and less than full rights such as a preservation restriction (35), tax liens (9), partition, sheriff, bankruptcy and short sales (11 to 13), quit claims (14), government (15) and charity (17) transfers, deeds in lieu of foreclosure (18) and the first sale after one (31), rights of way (20), affordable housing (21), exchanges (22), businesses sold with equipment (23), $100 or less (25), not a willing buyer and seller (26) and leasebacks (28), and any deed exempt from the realty transfer fee. Part of a lot (6) or a lot in two districts (16): listed, no acres. Kept, since they only keep a deed out of the state's assessment study: 5, 7, 10 (estate sales), 19, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33 (farmland assessment), 34 and 36. The state's public deed file leaves the buyer and seller blank, so no names show here; the deed at the county clerk has them. Our New Jersey copy starts with deeds recorded in 2018.

Every recorded sale

745 sales on file, Jul 2, 2019 to Jun 26, 2026: 118 farmland, 472 with buildings, 155 small parcels.

Every price here is a recorded sale: what the state's transfer record says was paid once the sale closed. Auction sales count once recorded. Asking prices and auction bids that did not close are never shown.

Newest first, Monmouth County, New Jersey
DateWhereAcresRecorded price$/acreTypeNoteNames
Jun 26, 2026Millstone township, Monmouth County, NJ2$425,000$212,500small parcel
Jun 24, 2026Colts Neck township, Monmouth County, NJ20.5$1$0farmland
Jun 23, 2026Middletown township, Monmouth County, NJ11.4$2,650,000$231,441with buildings
May 28, 2026Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ27.6$975,000$35,390farmland
May 22, 2026Wall township, Monmouth County, NJ8.5$1,700,000$199,531small parcel
May 15, 2026Middletown township, Monmouth County, NJ82.1$1$0with buildings
May 14, 2026Colts Neck township, Monmouth County, NJ17.6$2,750,000$155,896with buildings
Apr 22, 2026Upper Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ203.4$1,999,999$9,834with buildings
Apr 13, 2026Holmdel township, Monmouth County, NJ2.6$500,000$189,394small parcel
Apr 13, 2026Holmdel township, Monmouth County, NJ2.5$500,000$197,628small parcel
Apr 9, 2026Howell township, Monmouth County, NJ5.6$1$0with buildings
Apr 7, 2026Millstone township, Monmouth County, NJ12.7$1$0with buildings
Apr 7, 2026Howell township, Monmouth County, NJ9.1$1$0with buildings
Apr 6, 2026Howell township, Monmouth County, NJ9.8$999,999$102,041with buildings
Mar 26, 2026Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ4.4$1$0small parcel
Mar 12, 2026Millstone township, Monmouth County, NJ10.4$335,000$32,212small parcel
Feb 25, 2026Upper Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ17.3$1,490,000$86,227with buildings
Feb 19, 2026Middletown township, Monmouth County, NJnot stated$1with buildings
Feb 11, 2026Howell township, Monmouth County, NJ6.5$950,000$146,832with buildings
Feb 9, 2026Marlboro township, Monmouth County, NJ111.4$2,200,000$19,750with buildings
Feb 6, 2026Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ21.4$300,000$14,025with buildings
Feb 5, 2026Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ18.3$1$0small parcel
Feb 3, 2026Upper Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ50$1$0farmland
Jan 23, 2026Middletown township, Monmouth County, NJ8.1$350,000$42,998with buildings
Jan 23, 2026Howell township, Monmouth County, NJ43.1$900,000$20,887with buildings
Jan 23, 2026Howell township, Monmouth County, NJ22.9$500,000$21,834with buildings
Jan 6, 2026Upper Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ11.6$1$0with buildings
Dec 30, 2025Upper Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ9.7$915,000$94,525with buildings
Dec 22, 2025Upper Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ23.4$675,000$28,846farmland
Dec 18, 2025Millstone township, Monmouth County, NJ16.6$1,825,000$109,610small parcel
Dec 18, 2025Middletown township, Monmouth County, NJ17.6$1,543,600$87,456with buildings
Dec 16, 2025Middletown township, Monmouth County, NJ9.8$3,900,000$395,939with buildings
Dec 15, 2025Upper Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ75.3$999,999$13,282with buildings
Dec 8, 2025Middletown township, Monmouth County, NJnot stated$1with buildings
Dec 3, 2025Holmdel township, Monmouth County, NJ18.6$4,450,000$239,505with buildings
Nov 19, 2025Millstone township, Monmouth County, NJ6$816,250$136,042with buildings
Nov 18, 2025Colts Neck township, Monmouth County, NJnot stated$2,701,000with buildings
Nov 12, 2025Upper Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ6$10$2with buildings
Oct 24, 2025Marlboro township, Monmouth County, NJ10$125,000$12,525with buildings
Oct 23, 2025West Long Branch borough, Monmouth County, NJnot stated$14,000,000with buildings
Oct 22, 2025Wall township, Monmouth County, NJ6.7$1,850,000$275,298with buildings
Oct 17, 2025Upper Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ32.5$999,000$30,786with buildings
Oct 14, 2025Howell township, Monmouth County, NJ18$1$0small parcel
Oct 14, 2025Howell township, Monmouth County, NJ16$1$0small parcel
Oct 9, 2025Colts Neck township, Monmouth County, NJ14.3$1$0with buildings
Oct 8, 2025Colts Neck township, Monmouth County, NJ16.4$1,200,000$73,305with buildings
Oct 6, 2025Marlboro township, Monmouth County, NJ12.4$1,265,000$101,688with buildings
Sep 26, 2025Millstone township, Monmouth County, NJ55.6$609,400$10,953farmland
Sep 22, 2025Freehold township, Monmouth County, NJ26.9$6,425,000$239,203farmlandUnusual price: above the county's usual
Sep 18, 2025Manalapan township, Monmouth County, NJ6.5$575,000$88,462with buildings

Showing the newest 50 of 745 sales.

Type: with buildings means the property class on the record shows a house, farm buildings or a business; forest means forest classes with no farm class (Wisconsin) or timberland with no operating farm (Vermont); a small parcel is under 20 acres; farmland is the rest. Acres not stated: a return covering several parcels that does not give them.

A sale marked unusual is bare farmland whose price per acre sits well outside the market middle half; possible reasons above it: a house or buildings, timber or hunting ground, a building site or development land, or a neighbor paying more for the piece next door; below: a family or neighbor sale, a part interest, wooded, wet or poorer ground, no road access, or a land contract.

Buyer and seller names are public record on the state's transfer return. They load only when you tap, and are not shown to search engines. If one is yours and you want it off this site, tap Remove my name beside it.

A sale is listed when it carries a price and acres and a whole interest changed hands in a normal sale: gifts, family and related-party sales, quit claims, foreclosures and the like are left out, the same rule as Field Scout and the Farmland Atlas. Township and town are where the state places the sale; no parcel is pinned. None of this is an appraisal. Source: New Jersey Division of Taxation, SR-1A deed abstracts with acres from the MOD-IV 2026 assessment list, farm lots (classes 3A and 3B), read Oct 29, 2026.

Monmouth County in the Farmland Atlas · Every sale on a map in Field Scout · Comparable sales report · Other counties