Farmland sales in Mercer County, New Jersey

13 recorded sales in the last 12 months, any size (8 of 10 acres or more).

Market middle: $17,573 an acre, the middle of 5 bare farmland sales of 20 acres or more at $500 an acre or more, Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2026 (middle half $14,281 to $20,491). Sales with buildings, forest and small parcels are listed below but kept out of this middle.

All of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana, Vermont and New Jersey together: the September 2026 update, with the biggest buyers and unusual prices.

New Jersey sales come from the SR-1A deed abstracts that county tax boards send the state Division of Taxation. A deed is a farm sale here when its lot is classed farm, 3A (the farmhouse lot) or 3B (farmland-assessed land), when it sold or on the 2026 assessment list. Acres are the lot's calculated acreage on that 2026 list: today's lot, which may not be the lot as it sold. A deed whose lot is not on the list has no acres; it is listed and kept out of the middle. A 3A lot holds the farmhouse, so the sale is with buildings; 3B alone is bare land. How the state's non-usable codes map onto the market rule: out are family (1), love and affection (2), related companies (3), correction deeds (4), part interests (8) and less than full rights such as a preservation restriction (35), tax liens (9), partition, sheriff, bankruptcy and short sales (11 to 13), quit claims (14), government (15) and charity (17) transfers, deeds in lieu of foreclosure (18) and the first sale after one (31), rights of way (20), affordable housing (21), exchanges (22), businesses sold with equipment (23), $100 or less (25), not a willing buyer and seller (26) and leasebacks (28), and any deed exempt from the realty transfer fee. Part of a lot (6) or a lot in two districts (16): listed, no acres. Kept, since they only keep a deed out of the state's assessment study: 5, 7, 10 (estate sales), 19, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33 (farmland assessment), 34 and 36. The state's public deed file leaves the buyer and seller blank, so no names show here; the deed at the county clerk has them. Our New Jersey copy starts with deeds recorded in 2018.

Every recorded sale

229 sales on file, Jul 2, 2019 to Jun 29, 2026: 38 farmland, 164 with buildings, 27 small parcels.

Every price here is a recorded sale: what the state's transfer record says was paid once the sale closed. Auction sales count once recorded. Asking prices and auction bids that did not close are never shown.

Newest first, Mercer County, New Jersey
DateWhereAcresRecorded price$/acreTypeNoteNames
Jun 29, 2026Hamilton township, Mercer County, NJ85.4$1,500,000$17,573farmland
Jun 10, 2026Robbinsville township, Mercer County, NJ7.5$900,000$119,681with buildings
May 27, 2026Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ10.1$999,999$98,912with buildings
May 5, 2026Robbinsville township, Mercer County, NJ14.1$1,498,000$106,317small parcel
Mar 5, 2026Hamilton township, Mercer County, NJ6.6$300,000$45,249small parcel
Feb 20, 2026East Windsor township, Mercer County, NJnot stated$10,000,000with buildings
Jan 29, 2026Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ20$2,295,000$114,750with buildings
Jan 12, 2026Hamilton township, Mercer County, NJ33.6$301,000$8,964farmland
Jan 5, 2026Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ7.7$750,000$97,276with buildings
Dec 23, 2025Robbinsville township, Mercer County, NJ33$1,850,000$55,976with buildings
Dec 19, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ6.9$1,250,000$182,216with buildings
Dec 11, 2025Robbinsville township, Mercer County, NJ18.5$1,950,000$105,634with buildings
Oct 30, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ11.3$1,800,000$159,574with buildings
Sep 9, 2025Hamilton township, Mercer County, NJ11.6$999,999$86,207with buildings
Aug 22, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ12.4$1,700,000$136,876small parcel
Jul 29, 2025Lawrence township, Mercer County, NJ10.5$400,000$38,095small parcel
Jun 16, 2025Robbinsville township, Mercer County, NJnot stated$760,000with buildings
Jun 12, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ18.9$1,000,000$53,022small parcel
Jun 11, 2025Lawrence township, Mercer County, NJ8.1$385,000$47,590small parcel
May 14, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ37.2$1,100,000$29,594with buildings
Apr 25, 2025Princeton, Mercer County, NJ76.5$7,594,401$99,273with buildings
Apr 10, 2025Robbinsville township, Mercer County, NJ12.3$600,000$48,622with buildings
Apr 4, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ6.3$1,111,000$176,911with buildings
Mar 31, 2025Lawrence township, Mercer County, NJ15.2$825,000$54,276with buildings
Mar 24, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ94.1$910,000$9,666with buildings
Mar 12, 2025Robbinsville township, Mercer County, NJ2$399,900$195,073with buildings
Feb 27, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ23.7$486,050$20,491farmland
Feb 4, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ10.1$1,130,000$112,438with buildings
Feb 4, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ10.2$850,000$83,661with buildings
Jan 15, 2025Lawrence township, Mercer County, NJ11.6$3,370,000$289,519with buildings
Jan 8, 2025Robbinsville township, Mercer County, NJ16.3$1,200,000$73,755with buildings
Jan 2, 2025Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ28$400,000$14,281farmland
Dec 3, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ130.6$3,210,868$24,591farmland
Dec 3, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ10.2$680,000$66,732with buildings
Nov 14, 2024Hamilton township, Mercer County, NJ10.9$220,000$20,183with buildings
Nov 12, 2024Hamilton township, Mercer County, NJ6.9$680,000$98,981with buildings
Nov 6, 2024East Windsor township, Mercer County, NJ20.6$450,000$21,802farmland
Oct 25, 2024East Windsor township, Mercer County, NJ6.5$3,000,000$458,716small parcel
Sep 25, 2024West Windsor township, Mercer County, NJ48.4$20,000$413with buildings
Sep 18, 2024Lawrence township, Mercer County, NJnot stated$8,000,000with buildings
Sep 12, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ31.4$2,930,000$93,461with buildings
Sep 3, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ93.6$975,000$10,414farmland
Sep 3, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ31.4$1,750,000$55,804with buildings
Sep 3, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ27$450,000$16,673farmland
Aug 22, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ9.1$1,175,000$128,556with buildings
Aug 7, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ7$1,750,000$250,000with buildings
Jul 16, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ21.9$563,750$25,777with buildings
Jul 16, 2024Hopewell township, Mercer County, NJ3.2$563,750$178,402with buildings
Jun 3, 2024Lawrence township, Mercer County, NJ9.3$1,445,000$155,544with buildings
Jun 3, 2024Lawrence township, Mercer County, NJ3$400$132small parcel

Showing the newest 50 of 229 sales.

Type: with buildings means the property class on the record shows a house, farm buildings or a business; forest means forest classes with no farm class (Wisconsin) or timberland with no operating farm (Vermont); a small parcel is under 20 acres; farmland is the rest. Acres not stated: a return covering several parcels that does not give them.

A sale marked unusual is bare farmland whose price per acre sits well outside the market middle half; possible reasons above it: a house or buildings, timber or hunting ground, a building site or development land, or a neighbor paying more for the piece next door; below: a family or neighbor sale, a part interest, wooded, wet or poorer ground, no road access, or a land contract.

Buyer and seller names are public record on the state's transfer return. They load only when you tap, and are not shown to search engines. If one is yours and you want it off this site, tap Remove my name beside it.

A sale is listed when it carries a price and acres and a whole interest changed hands in a normal sale: gifts, family and related-party sales, quit claims, foreclosures and the like are left out, the same rule as Field Scout and the Farmland Atlas. Township and town are where the state places the sale; no parcel is pinned. None of this is an appraisal. Source: New Jersey Division of Taxation, SR-1A deed abstracts with acres from the MOD-IV 2026 assessment list, farm lots (classes 3A and 3B), read Oct 29, 2026.

Mercer County in the Farmland Atlas · Every sale on a map in Field Scout · Comparable sales report · Other counties