Farmland sales in Hunterdon County, New Jersey
82 recorded sales in the last 12 months, any size (57 of 10 acres or more).
Market middle: $12,000 an acre, the middle of 19 bare farmland sales of 20 acres or more at $500 an acre or more, Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2026 (middle half $7,494 to $21,796). Sales with buildings, forest and small parcels are listed below but kept out of this middle.
Two windows: this middle covers 24 months (19 sales). The Farmland Atlas page also shows the last 12 months, Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026: 10 sales, median $8,059 an acre. Different windows, different numbers.
All of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana, Vermont and New Jersey together: the September 2026 update, with the biggest buyers and unusual prices.
New Jersey sales come from the SR-1A deed abstracts that county tax boards send the state Division of Taxation. A deed is a farm sale here when its lot is classed farm, 3A (the farmhouse lot) or 3B (farmland-assessed land), when it sold or on the 2026 assessment list. Acres are the lot's calculated acreage on that 2026 list: today's lot, which may not be the lot as it sold. A deed whose lot is not on the list has no acres; it is listed and kept out of the middle. A 3A lot holds the farmhouse, so the sale is with buildings; 3B alone is bare land. How the state's non-usable codes map onto the market rule: out are family (1), love and affection (2), related companies (3), correction deeds (4), part interests (8) and less than full rights such as a preservation restriction (35), tax liens (9), partition, sheriff, bankruptcy and short sales (11 to 13), quit claims (14), government (15) and charity (17) transfers, deeds in lieu of foreclosure (18) and the first sale after one (31), rights of way (20), affordable housing (21), exchanges (22), businesses sold with equipment (23), $100 or less (25), not a willing buyer and seller (26) and leasebacks (28), and any deed exempt from the realty transfer fee. Part of a lot (6) or a lot in two districts (16): listed, no acres. Kept, since they only keep a deed out of the state's assessment study: 5, 7, 10 (estate sales), 19, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33 (farmland assessment), 34 and 36. The state's public deed file leaves the buyer and seller blank, so no names show here; the deed at the county clerk has them. Our New Jersey copy starts with deeds recorded in 2018.
Every recorded sale
1056 sales on file, Jul 1, 2019 to Jun 30, 2026: 81 farmland, 828 with buildings, 147 small parcels.
Every price here is a recorded sale: what the state's transfer record says was paid once the sale closed. Auction sales count once recorded. Asking prices and auction bids that did not close are never shown.
| Date | Where | Acres | Recorded price | $/acre | Type | Note | Names |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 30, 2026 | East Amwell township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 92.1 | $724,470 | $7,869 | farmland | ||
| Jun 24, 2026 | Readington township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 7.4 | $705,000 | $95,270 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 18, 2026 | Readington township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 6.6 | $350,000 | $52,711 | small parcel | ||
| Jun 16, 2026 | Franklin township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 20.5 | $2,650,000 | $129,079 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 11, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 7.7 | $1,161,500 | $150,453 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 9, 2026 | East Amwell township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 25.6 | $1,999,999 | $78,003 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 9, 2026 | Lebanon township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 38.5 | $1,100,000 | $28,542 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 4, 2026 | Clinton township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 43.6 | $1,035,000 | $23,722 | farmland | ||
| Jun 4, 2026 | Union township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 8.5 | $725,000 | $85,697 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 3, 2026 | Bethlehem township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 11.6 | $299,000 | $25,843 | with buildings | ||
| Jun 2, 2026 | Holland township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 15.6 | $880,000 | $56,302 | with buildings | ||
| May 28, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 79.3 | $2,150,000 | $27,112 | with buildings | ||
| May 27, 2026 | Lebanon township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 6.5 | $990,000 | $153,488 | with buildings | ||
| May 26, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 11.4 | $605,000 | $52,977 | with buildings | ||
| May 26, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 6.3 | $315,000 | $49,685 | small parcel | ||
| May 22, 2026 | Bethlehem township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 32.9 | $545,000 | $16,591 | with buildings | ||
| May 14, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 41 | $999,900 | $24,376 | with buildings | ||
| May 1, 2026 | Franklin township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 12.6 | $508,000 | $40,446 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 28, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 35.9 | $2,975,000 | $82,892 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 23, 2026 | Kingwood township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 6.8 | $207,000 | $30,352 | small parcel | ||
| Apr 22, 2026 | Readington township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 22.6 | $635,000 | $28,110 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 21, 2026 | Kingwood township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 53.8 | $550,000 | $10,229 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 14, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 6.3 | $190,000 | $30,111 | small parcel | ||
| Apr 6, 2026 | Franklin township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 3.3 | $315,000 | $94,311 | small parcel | ||
| Apr 1, 2026 | Tewksbury township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 6.3 | $1,065,000 | $169,856 | with buildings | ||
| Apr 1, 2026 | Kingwood township, Hunterdon County, NJ | not stated | $508,000 | with buildings | |||
| Mar 20, 2026 | Readington township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 14.4 | $1,600,000 | $110,880 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 19, 2026 | Union township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 80 | $5,200,000 | $64,992 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 17, 2026 | Holland township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 30.7 | $524,159 | $17,068 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 6, 2026 | Kingwood township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 18 | $608,000 | $33,797 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 5, 2026 | Kingwood township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 3.1 | $1,000 | $326 | small parcel | ||
| Mar 5, 2026 | Kingwood township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 3.1 | $1,000 | $326 | small parcel | ||
| Mar 2, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 10 | $600,000 | $60,000 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 27, 2026 | East Amwell township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 79.5 | $925,000 | $11,629 | farmland | ||
| Feb 26, 2026 | Franklin township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 126.1 | $350,000 | $2,775 | farmland | ||
| Feb 19, 2026 | East Amwell township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 19.2 | $275,000 | $14,353 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 18, 2026 | Tewksbury township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 10.6 | $1,287,500 | $121,006 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 18, 2026 | Readington township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 33.5 | $805,000 | $24,044 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 18, 2026 | Lebanon township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 14.9 | $490,000 | $32,820 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 10, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 6.1 | $840,000 | $137,705 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 4, 2026 | East Amwell township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 10.7 | $1,900,000 | $177,903 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 3, 2026 | Kingwood township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 2.2 | $175,000 | $80,645 | small parcel | ||
| Feb 2, 2026 | East Amwell township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 38.5 | $900,000 | $23,364 | with buildings | ||
| Jan 30, 2026 | Raritan township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 35.5 | $450,000 | $12,676 | with buildings | ||
| Jan 30, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 10.3 | $459,000 | $44,520 | with buildings | ||
| Jan 20, 2026 | Alexandria township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 19.2 | $500,000 | $26,028 | small parcel | ||
| Jan 16, 2026 | West Amwell township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 7.5 | $205,000 | $27,152 | small parcel | ||
| Jan 15, 2026 | Delaware township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 6 | $40,500 | $6,750 | small parcel | ||
| Jan 6, 2026 | Kingwood township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 24.2 | $765,000 | $31,651 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 31, 2025 | Kingwood township, Hunterdon County, NJ | 61.2 | $391,578 | $6,394 | farmland |
Showing the newest 50 of 1056 sales.
Type: with buildings means the property class on the record shows a house, farm buildings or a business; forest means forest classes with no farm class (Wisconsin) or timberland with no operating farm (Vermont); a small parcel is under 20 acres; farmland is the rest. Acres not stated: a return covering several parcels that does not give them.
A sale marked unusual is bare farmland whose price per acre sits well outside the market middle half; possible reasons above it: a house or buildings, timber or hunting ground, a building site or development land, or a neighbor paying more for the piece next door; below: a family or neighbor sale, a part interest, wooded, wet or poorer ground, no road access, or a land contract.
Buyer and seller names are public record on the state's transfer return. They load only when you tap, and are not shown to search engines. If one is yours and you want it off this site, tap Remove my name beside it.
A sale is listed when it carries a price and acres and a whole interest changed hands in a normal sale: gifts, family and related-party sales, quit claims, foreclosures and the like are left out, the same rule as Field Scout and the Farmland Atlas. Township and town are where the state places the sale; no parcel is pinned. None of this is an appraisal. Source: New Jersey Division of Taxation, SR-1A deed abstracts with acres from the MOD-IV 2026 assessment list, farm lots (classes 3A and 3B), read Oct 29, 2026.
Hunterdon County in the Farmland Atlas · Every sale on a map in Field Scout · Comparable sales report · Other counties