Farmland sales in Bergen County, New Jersey
0 recorded sales in the last 12 months, any size (0 of 10 acres or more).
No market middle: no bare farmland sales of 20 acres or more at $500 an acre or more, Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2026, and it takes 5.
All of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana, Vermont and New Jersey together: the September 2026 update, with the biggest buyers and unusual prices.
New Jersey sales come from the SR-1A deed abstracts that county tax boards send the state Division of Taxation. A deed is a farm sale here when its lot is classed farm, 3A (the farmhouse lot) or 3B (farmland-assessed land), when it sold or on the 2026 assessment list. Acres are the lot's calculated acreage on that 2026 list: today's lot, which may not be the lot as it sold. A deed whose lot is not on the list has no acres; it is listed and kept out of the middle. A 3A lot holds the farmhouse, so the sale is with buildings; 3B alone is bare land. How the state's non-usable codes map onto the market rule: out are family (1), love and affection (2), related companies (3), correction deeds (4), part interests (8) and less than full rights such as a preservation restriction (35), tax liens (9), partition, sheriff, bankruptcy and short sales (11 to 13), quit claims (14), government (15) and charity (17) transfers, deeds in lieu of foreclosure (18) and the first sale after one (31), rights of way (20), affordable housing (21), exchanges (22), businesses sold with equipment (23), $100 or less (25), not a willing buyer and seller (26) and leasebacks (28), and any deed exempt from the realty transfer fee. Part of a lot (6) or a lot in two districts (16): listed, no acres. Kept, since they only keep a deed out of the state's assessment study: 5, 7, 10 (estate sales), 19, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33 (farmland assessment), 34 and 36. The state's public deed file leaves the buyer and seller blank, so no names show here; the deed at the county clerk has them. Our New Jersey copy starts with deeds recorded in 2018.
Every recorded sale
14 sales on file, Mar 17, 2020 to May 28, 2025: 2 farmland, 12 with buildings.
Every price here is a recorded sale: what the state's transfer record says was paid once the sale closed. Auction sales count once recorded. Asking prices and auction bids that did not close are never shown.
| Date | Where | Acres | Recorded price | $/acre | Type | Note | Names |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 28, 2025 | Oakland borough, Bergen County, NJ | not stated | $1,125,000 | with buildings | |||
| Mar 25, 2025 | Paramus borough, Bergen County, NJ | not stated | $8,550,000 | with buildings | |||
| Mar 4, 2025 | Paramus borough, Bergen County, NJ | not stated | $7,800,000 | with buildings | |||
| Jan 16, 2025 | Saddle River borough, Bergen County, NJ | 5.9 | $2,200,000 | $373,514 | with buildings | ||
| Nov 15, 2023 | Oakland borough, Bergen County, NJ | not stated | $8,456,000 | farmland | |||
| Nov 15, 2023 | Oakland borough, Bergen County, NJ | not stated | $30,302,000 | farmland | |||
| Sep 20, 2022 | Franklin Lakes borough, Bergen County, NJ | 6.3 | $2,600,000 | $412,044 | with buildings | ||
| Dec 1, 2021 | Woodcliff Lake borough, Bergen County, NJ | 5.9 | $999,999 | $169,491 | with buildings | ||
| Aug 23, 2021 | Ramsey borough, Bergen County, NJ | not stated | $850,000 | with buildings | |||
| Feb 10, 2021 | Franklin Lakes borough, Bergen County, NJ | 18.6 | $425,000 | $22,886 | with buildings | ||
| Feb 4, 2021 | Mahwah township, Bergen County, NJ | 23.8 | $3,000,000 | $126,050 | with buildings | ||
| Oct 16, 2020 | Saddle River borough, Bergen County, NJ | not stated | $2,800,000 | with buildings | |||
| Mar 25, 2020 | Ramsey borough, Bergen County, NJ | 8.1 | $3,000,000 | $372,208 | with buildings | ||
| Mar 17, 2020 | Saddle River borough, Bergen County, NJ | not stated | $3,250,000 | with buildings |
Type: with buildings means the property class on the record shows a house, farm buildings or a business; forest means forest classes with no farm class (Wisconsin) or timberland with no operating farm (Vermont); a small parcel is under 20 acres; farmland is the rest. Acres not stated: a return covering several parcels that does not give them.
Buyer and seller names are public record on the state's transfer return. They load only when you tap, and are not shown to search engines. If one is yours and you want it off this site, tap Remove my name beside it.
A sale is listed when it carries a price and acres and a whole interest changed hands in a normal sale: gifts, family and related-party sales, quit claims, foreclosures and the like are left out, the same rule as Field Scout and the Farmland Atlas. Township and town are where the state places the sale; no parcel is pinned. None of this is an appraisal. Source: New Jersey Division of Taxation, SR-1A deed abstracts with acres from the MOD-IV 2026 assessment list, farm lots (classes 3A and 3B), read Oct 29, 2026.
Bergen County in the Farmland Atlas · Every sale on a map in Field Scout · Comparable sales report · Other counties